TechinLaw Symposium ADO Recordings

Technology, Innovation, and Law Collaborative Symposium

Alternate Delivery Recording Option Only (Two Recordings)

Recorded on January 12, 2024
Karen J. Williams Courtroom, USC Joseph F. Rice School of Law 
Approved for Six SC ADO CLE Credits, Including 2 for Ethics



8:30 AM Welcome 

  • Gary Moore, Assistant Dean for Academic Technology and Executive Director, TechinLaw Collaborative 
  • William Hubbard, Dean, USC Joseph F. Rice School of Law – Introduction of Welcome Address Speaker 

8:40 AM – 9:00 AM Welcome Address – Donna Tillis, Nelson Mullins Riley, and Scarborough 

9:00 AM - 10:15 AM Panel 1 – “Cryptocurrency Litigation and the Need for Regulation and Reform” 

  • Moderator - Tyler Passarella, Class of 2024, USC Joseph F. Rice School of Law.  President of the Blockchain Law Society 
  • Dave Maxfield, Esq. 
  • Graham Newman, Esq, Chappell, Chappell, and Newman 
  • Jordan Teague, Esq., Campbell Teague 
  • Blake Kennedy, Assistant Attorney General, South Carolina Attorney General’s Office 

10:15 AM – 10:30 AM – Break 

10:30 AM – 11:45 PM - Panel 2 – “AI and Employment Algorithms– What Lawyers Need to Know About These Tools, Potential Biases and Upcoming Regulation”  

  • Moderator - Joe Seiner- Oliver Ellsworth Professor of Federal Practice, University of South Carolina School of Law 
  • Leigh Ellen Gray, Campbell Teague 
  • Commissioner Keith E. Sonderling, U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission  
  • John Browning, Distinguished Jurist in Residence, Faulkner University School of Law, and Chair of the State Bar of Texas Taskforce on AI and the Law 
  • Rick Oppedisano, Delta Bravo AVI 

11:45 AM – 12:45 PM –Lunch (Lunch provided for Panelists/Presenters/Dignitaries. Attendees – Lunch on Your Own including Food Truck) 

12:45 PM – 1:15 PM - Keynote Address – “The Role Technology Played in the Alex Murdaugh Case” - Creighton Waters, Chief Attorney, State Grand Jury Section At South Carolina Office of the Attorney General  

  • Introduction by Derek A. Shoemake, Kershaw City Councilman and Attorney, Connell, Law Firm  

1:15 PM – 2:30 PM – Cybersecurity and South Carolina  

  • Moderator – Joshua Ayers, Class of 2025, University of South Carolina School of Law.  President of the National Security Society 
  • Derek Shoemake, Kershaw City Councilman and Attorney, Connell Law Firm 
  • Megan Stifel, Chief Strategy Officer, Institute for Security and Technology 
  • Dr. Csilla Farkas, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, Director of the Center for Information Assurance Engineering, University of South Carolina 
  • Colonel Jared Buchanon, Capabilities Development and Integration Directorate, Fort Eisenhower, Georgia

2:30 PM – 2:45 PM Break

2:45 PM – 4:00 PM – How New Technologies from Electrification to Automation Are Changing Motor Vehicle Law  

  • Moderator – Marianna McDevitt, Class of 2023, Nelson Mullins Riley and, Scarborough 
  • Panelists to be announced

4:00 PM - Closing Remarks – Bryant Walker Smith, Associate Professor of Law, USC Joseph F. Rice School of Law 

For Further Details, see our TechInLaw Symposium Website

Prices range from $0.00 to $100.00 (price depends on options selected)